Mantra on bond street I be there around 4... Come thru we can have a good time!!

Amy Shark has dropped her ‘Night Thinker’ EP and IT IS GOOD

This is Amy Shark. As you can see, the Shark likes to catch fish. The Shark also likes to deliver us good music for New Music Friday. 

Amy today dropped her first EP, ‘Night Thinker’. If I were to describe the EP in a few words like I would the red wine we’ll all likely be drinking this evening, it’d be: soothing, full of soul, and uplifting (at times).

Here’s the tracklist for you:

  1. Drive You Mad
  2. Adore
  3. Weekends
  4. Worst Girl feat. Allday
  5. Blood Brothers
  6. Deleted

After one listen through, my favourite song would have to be ‘Blood Brothers’. It starts off with that all-too-regular tinny radio effect that tricks you into thinking it’s going to be some sort of Katy Perry ‘Chained to the Rhythm‘ copycat pop song (or a copy of the many others that use that effect). But then it takes a different direction (a good direction).

Here’s a sample of the lyrics:

First verse: “We see eye to eye, happy to jump the line. See you in 3D, cook my hand gently. Helping you make your bet, already inside your head. You’re giving away the ending, we should stop pretending.”

Chorus: “Why, why, why, I feel like a million dollar bill. Hanging off your arms so chill. Help, no, I’m not like the others. We’re the only Blood Brothers.”

The ‘Night Thinker’ EP is currently No. 1 on the Australian iTunes chart and features her current single, ‘Weekends’, produced by Dann Hume (he’s done stuff with Troye Sivan, Matt Corby, Daniel Johns and Courtney Barnett) and the breakout moment, ‘Adore’ – which now has 14 million streams on Spotify.

Amy wrapped up her national sold-out Adore Tour earlier this month before heading to New Zealand for her first international sold-out headline show. She’s in LA right now doing press and returns to Australia for Groovin’ The Moo later this month before heading back to the US for her first shows there.

TOUR DATES:

POP UP
Wed 26 April – Pop Up, Richmond

FESTIVALS
Fri 28 April – GTM, Oakbank
Sat 29 April – GTM, Maitland
Sun 30 April – GTM, Townsville
Sat 6 May – GTM, Bendigo
Sun 7 May – GTM Canberra
Sat 13 May – GTM, Bunbury
Sat 20 May – Bass In The Grass, Darwin

MILKY CHANCE – THE BLOSSOM TOUR
Tue 2 May – The Tivoli, Brisbane
Wed 3 May – Enmore Theatre, Sydney
Thur 4 May – Town Hall, Melbourne
Wed 10 May – Metro City, Perth *Solo Show

US TOUR
Wed 31 May – Adelaide Hall, Toronto
Thurs 1 June – DC 9, Washington DC
Fri 2 June – Boot & Saddle, Philadelphia
Sun 4 June – 3rd & Lindsley, Nashville
Mon 5 June – Baby’s All Right, Brooklyn
Tues 6 June – Mercury Lounge, New York
Thurs 8 June – Great Scott, Boston
Mon 12 June – School Night @ Bardot, Los Angeles
Tue 13 June – Echo, Los Angeles
Fri 16 June – Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop
Sat 17 June – Doug Fir Lounge, Portland
Mon 19 June – Barboza, Seattle
Tues 20 June – Biltmore Cabaret, Vancouver


Share this article, won't ya?


THESE ARE RLY GOOD